In the first half of the semester, we worked on our resume webpage. When I was trying to divide my content into two columns, I could not figure out how to get them separate for the life of me. I followed all the coding from class, the book, and I even tried to research other ways to float different columns. After three amazing hours of going through all of the coding of the HTML and the CSS, I realized that I spelled the word “statement” wrong. Instead, I wrote “statment”.

ms-hQuKzh.gif

Because of this minuscule error, the coding did not match up or connect, which is why it was not working. After slamming my head against my desk for about an hour, I then realized how important it is to proofread, spell correctly, and use all the proper punctuation.

However, this time around, I could not figure out why my navigation bar would not line up horizontally like it was supposed to. I followed the coding we were given in class, and still nothing. This is what I typed in my css:

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.21.58 PM.png

Everything looked good to me. I checked the HTML as well, and everything looked fine. I looked over it for about 15 minutes and could not figure it out. I finally asked Professor Wolff for help, and even he could not figure it out at first. But then, there it was.Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.03.47 PM.png

Have you found the error yet? Because it looked perfectly fine to me.

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.03.47 PM.png

How about now? Do you see it?

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.26.31 PM.png

That’s right folks, that’s all it was. Two quotation marks. These quotation marks can make or break you in this sick world. If you ever come across a horrible tragedy and don’t know how to fix it, try adding quotation marks because it will probably solve all of your problems for no reason at all.

In both of these cases, sometimes it really just takes a fresh set of eyes to see something that you can’t see. If you are at a complete loss and have no idea why some line of coding isn’t working, either take a break and step away from it for awhile, or ask a friend to look over it for you. Do not read it for three hours until you realize you spelled “statement” wrong and then bash your head into your desk.

SO THEN, once I finally figured out how to make my navigation bar in line, I hated the way it looked.

ms-upysGX.gif

It had no spacing in between the navigation options on the toolbar. It was not cute.Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.09.09 PM.png

I tried out some different things, including word spacing(???) and other display types and nothing was working. Then it finally occurred to me that we went over the calculations and grid system for a reason. I forgot about padding!!!! Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.14.36 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.14.33 PM.png

Once I added in padding, I FINALLY got the look that I desired. I will probably change the spacing at least 400 times, but at least now I know how to do it. Padding and quotation marks thought they could beat me, but they were wrong. I emerged victorious and cannot wait for my next head banging dilemma with coding!!!

ms-4HGn9y.gif

